Privacy

Privacy Statement 

Last updated February 29, 2016.

At the Ombudsman for Banking Services and Investments ("OBSI", "we" or "us"), we are committed to protecting your privacy and safeguarding your personal information.

The purpose of this Privacy Statement is to inform you about the types of Personal Information OBSI collects, uses and discloses. It explains how we use and disclose that information, the choices you have regarding such use and disclosure, and how you may correct that information.

From time to time, we may make changes to this Privacy Statement. The Privacy Statement is current as of the "last revised" date which appears at the top of this page. We will treat Personal Information in a manner consistent with the Privacy Statement under which it was collected, unless we have your consent to treat it differently. This Privacy Statement applies to any information we collect or receive about you, from any source.

We may provide links on our website to other websites. Those websites may have different policies and we do not assume responsibility for the information or privacy practices of those other sites.

 1. What is Personal Information?
"Personal Information" is any information that is about an identifiable individual. This information may include, for example, your name, mailing address, telephone number and e-mail address. Personal Information, however, does not include your name, business title, business address, business telephone number, business e-mail address or business facsimile number in your capacity as an employee or official of an organization.
 2. How do we use Personal Information?

We generally use Personal Information for the following purposes (the "Purposes"):

  • to investigate and resolve complaints about a participating firm;
  • to respond to inquiries or complaints about OBSI;
  • to garner opinions and comments in regard to OBSI's operations;
  • to administer our business activities and website;
  • to communicate with Individuals about OBSI's activities;
  • for statistical research and demographic analysis;
  • if the Individual attends at our offices, to administer the physical security of our offices;
  • where appropriate, to recruit for positions in OBSI, and for planning and analysis relating to OBSI's recruitment efforts;
  • to investigate and respond to legal claims;
  • such purposes for which OBSI may obtain an Individual's consent from time to time; and
  • such other uses as may be permitted or required by applicable law.

If you make a complaint to OBSI about banking and other financial services, the facts concerning your complaint and any resolution, with personal identifiers removed, may be used to compile statistical data or prepare case studies, which may be made public.

 3. When and how do we obtain your consent?
We generally obtain your consent to the collection, use and disclosure of Personal Information at or before the time that we collect it, except in limited circumstances as required or permitted by law. You may provide your consent to us either orally, electronically or in writing. The form of consent that we seek, including whether it is express or implied, will largely depend on the sensitivity of the personal information and the reasonable expectations you might have in the circumstances. At any time, you may withdraw your consent to the collection, use or disclosure of your Personal Information for any Purpose.
 4. How do we collect your Personal Information?
We will always collect your Personal Information by fair and lawful means. We may collect Personal Information from you directly and/or from third parties, such as from participating firms, where we have obtained your consent to do so or as otherwise required or permitted by law.
 5. What safeguards have we implemented to protect your Personal Information?
We have implemented physical, organizational, contractual and technological security measures to protect your Personal Information from loss or theft, unauthorized access, disclosure, copying, use or modification.
 6. Where do we store your Personal Information?
We will keep the Personal Information that we collect either at the OBSI offices in Toronto, Ontario, at the home offices of our investigators, or at the offices of a service provider in Ottawa, Ontario. We also store your Personal Information in our data centres in the U.S. While your personal information is in the U.S., it is subject to U.S. laws, and may be subject to disclosure to the governments, courts or law enforcement or regulatory agencies in the U.S., pursuant to applicable laws.
 7. To whom do we provide your Personal Information?
We identify to whom, and for what purposes, we disclose your Personal Information, at the time we collect such information from you and obtain your consent to such disclosure. We will only make disclosures of Personal Information to such persons for whom you provide your consent, unless the disclosure is otherwise permitted or required by law.

We may transfer your Personal Information to third party service providers with whom we have a contractual agreement that includes appropriate privacy standards, where such third parties are assisting us with the Purposes - such as service providers that provide data storage or processing.

For written information about our practices regarding service providers outside of Canada, contact our Privacy Officer (see question 16 below).

8. How do we ensure the privacy of your Personal Information when dealing with third parties?
We ensure that all third parties with access to Personal Information, whether they are involved in a complaint, an investigation or otherwise, are contractually required to observe the intent of this Privacy Statement and our privacy practices.
9. How long will we utilize, disclose or retain your Personal Information?
We may keep a record of your Personal Information, correspondence or comments, in a file specific to you. We will utilize, disclose or retain your Personal Information only as long as necessary for the purposes for which that Personal Information was collected and as permitted or required by law. Where the Personal Information has been used to make a decision in respect of a complaint, we will retain the Personal Information for at least one year.
10. How do we keep your Personal Information accurate?
We will take reasonable steps to ensure that your Personal Information is kept as accurate, complete and up-to-date as possible. We require you to supply us with written updates to your Personal Information from time to time.
11. What if the Personal Information we have about you is inaccurate? 
At any time, you can challenge the accuracy or completeness of your Personal Information in our records. If you successfully demonstrate that your Personal Information in our records is inaccurate or incomplete, we will amend the Personal Information as required. Where appropriate, we will transmit the amended information to third parties having access to your Personal Information.
12. How can you access your Personal Information?
If you make a written request for information about your Personal Information, we will respond (and grant access to it, if requested) to the extent required by law. We will make such Personal Information available to you in a form that is generally understandable, and will explain any abbreviations or codes.
13. How fast will we respond to your written requests?
We will generally respond to your written request in 30 days after receipt of such a request. We will advise you in writing if we cannot meet your requests within this time limit, and of any recourse for complaints in respect of this time limit.
14. Are there any costs to you for requesting information about your Personal Information or our privacy practices?
Generally, we will respond to request for access to Personal Information or to information about our privacy practices at no cost. However, if the request will involve producing a significant volume of records, or require extensive search time by OBSI personnel, OBSI may charge a minimal reasonable fee to recover its costs (and OBSI will provide you with an estimate of any such fee for your consideration before proceeding).
 15. How do we know that it is really you requesting your Personal Information?
We must take reasonable steps to confirm the identity of an individual making a request for Personal Information. This may require us to request additional Personal Information to validate your identity when you request access to your Personal Information. OBSI will only use and disclose any additional information you provide to us for the purpose of fulfilling your request.
 16. How do you contact OBSI regarding access to your Personal Information or OBSI's privacy practices?

All comments, questions, concerns or complaints regarding your Personal Information, this Privacy Statement or our privacy practices, should be forwarded to our Privacy Officer as follows.

Privacy Officer
401 Bay Street, Suite 1505
P.O. Box 5
Toronto, ON M5H 2Y4
Toll-free: 1-888-451-4519
TTY: 1-855-889-6274
Fax: 1-888-422-2865
Email: privacy@obsi.ca

 

 

© 2017 Ombudsman for Banking Services and Investments (OBSI), 401 Bay Street, Suite 1505, P.O. Box 5, Toronto ON M5H 2Y4

High Contrast Mode is on

Confidentialité

Politique de confidentialité

Le 29 février 2016

L'Ombudsman des Services Bancaires et d'Investissement (« OSBI », « nous » et toute formulation analogue) s'engage à protéger votre vie privée et vos renseignements personnels.

L'objet de la présente déclaration relative à la protection de la vie privée vise à vous informer du type de renseignements personnels que l'OSBI recueille, utilise et divulgue. L'énoncé explique comment nous utilisons et divulguons ces renseignements, les choix que vous pouvez exercer dans le cadre de leur utilisation et de leur divulgation ainsi que les moyens par lesquels vous pouvez les corriger.

Nous pouvons modifier la présente déclaration. La date de « dernière révision » indiquée au haut de cette page correspond à la date d'entrée en vigueur de la version actuelle de cette déclaration. Nous traiterons les renseignements personnels conformément à la déclaration qui était en vigueur au moment où ils ont été recueillis, à moins que vous ne consentiez à ce qu'ils soient traités différemment. La présente déclaration s'applique à tous les renseignements personnels qui vous concernent que nous recueillons ou recevons de quelque source que ce soit.

Il est possible que nous fournissions, sur notre site Web, des liens vers d'autres sites Web. Ces autres sites Web peuvent comporter des politiques différentes et nous n'assumons aucune responsabilité en ce qui concerne les renseignements ou les pratiques de protection de la vie privée de ces autres sites.

 1. Qu'entend-on par renseignements personnels?
Par « renseignements personnels », on entend les renseignements qui portent sur une personne identifiable. Ils peuvent comprendre, par exemple, votre nom, votre adresse postale, votre numéro de téléphone et votre adresse courriel. Les renseignements personnels ne comprennent toutefois pas vos coordonnées en qualité d'employé d'une organisation (nom, titre, adresse professionnelle, numéro de téléphone d'affaires, adresse courriel d'affaires et numéro de télécopieur d'affaires).
 2. Comment utilisons-nous vos renseignements personnels?
 En règle générale, nous utilisons vos renseignements personnels aux fins suivantes (les « fins »):
  • enquêter sur vos plaintes à l'égard d'une firme participante et les résoudre;
  • recevoir vos demandes de renseignements ou vos plaintes au sujet de l'OSBI;
  • recueillir vos opinions et commentaires au sujet des activités de l'OSBI;
  • administrer nos activités commerciales et le site Web;
  • communiquer avec les gens au sujet des activités de l'OSBI;
  • aux fins de recherche statistique et d'analyse démographique;
  • si la personne est à nos bureaux, administrer la sécurité physique de nos bureaux;
  • au besoin, recruter du personnel pour des postes au sein de l'OSBI et à des fins de planification et d'analyse relativement aux efforts de recrutement de l'OSBI;
  • enquêter sur d'éventuelles poursuites judiciaires et les résoudre;
  • aux fins pour lesquelles l'OSBI peut obtenir le consentement de la personne de temps à autre;
  • les autres fins pouvant être exigées ou autorisées par la loi applicable.

Si vous portez plainte auprès de l'OSBI au sujet des services bancaires ou d'autres services financiers, les faits concernant votre plainte et sa résolution, avec les identificateurs personnels supprimés, peuvent être utilisés pour compiler des données statistiques ou préparer des études de cas, qui pourraient être rendues publiques.

3. Quand et comment obtenons-nous votre consentement?

En général, nous obtenons votre consentement pour recueillir, utiliser et divulguer vos renseignements personnels au plus tard au moment où nous les recueillons, sauf dans des circonstances particulières, tant que la loi le permet ou l'exige. Vous pouvez nous donner votre consentement verbalement, par voie électronique ou par écrit. Le type de consentement que nous tentons d'obtenir, y compris un consentement exprès ou implicite, sera grandement fonction de la sensibilité des renseignements personnels et des attentes que vous pourriez avoir dans les circonstances. Vous pouvez en tout temps retirer votre consentement relatif à la collecte, l'utilisation ou la divulgation de vos renseignements personnels pour quelque fin que ce soit.

4. Comment recueillons-nous vos renseignements personnels?
Nous recueillerons toujours vos renseignements personnels par des moyens légaux et équitables. Nous pourrions recueillir des renseignements personnels auprès de vous directement et/ou auprès de tiers, notamment les firmes participantes, lorsque nous avons obtenu votre consentement ou suivant, par ailleurs, ce que la loi exige ou permet.
5. Quelles mesures avons-nous mises en place pour protéger vos renseignements personnels?
Nous avons mis en place des mesures physiques, organisationnelles, contractuelles et technologiques pour protéger vos renseignements personnels contre leur perte, vol, accès non autorisé, divulgation, copie, utilisation ou modification.
6. À quel endroit sont conservés vos renseignements personnels?
Nous conserverons les renseignements personnels que nous recueillons aux bureaux de l'OSBI à Toronto (Ontario), aux bureaux locaux de nos enquêteurs ou aux bureaux d'un fournisseur de services à Ottawa (Ontario). Nous conservons également vos renseignements personnels dans nos centres de données situés aux États-Unis. Puisque vos renseignements personnels sont aux États-Unis, ils sont assujettis aux lois américaines, et peuvent faire l'objet d'une communication aux gouvernements, aux tribunaux ou à des organismes de mise en application ou de réglementation de la loi de ce pays, conformément aux lois applicables.
7. À qui fournissons-nous vos renseignements personnels?
Au moment où nous recueillons vos renseignements personnels, nous indiquons à qui et à quelles fins nous les divulguerons et demandons votre consentement avant de les divulguer. Nous divulguons uniquement des renseignements personnels aux personnes à qui vous avez donné votre consentement, à moins que la divulgation ne soit autrement autorisée ou exigée par la loi.

Nous pouvons transférer vos renseignements personnels à des tiers fournisseurs de services avec qui nous avons conclu une entente contractuelle qui renferme des normes appropriées de protection de la vie privée, lorsque ces tiers nous apportent leur collaboration aux fins mentionnées ci-dessus - comme les fournisseurs de services qui procurent le traitement ou le stockage des données.

Pour obtenir des renseignements écrits sur nos pratiques relatives aux fournisseurs de services situés à l'extérieur du Canada, communiquez avec notre agent de la protection de la vie privée (voir la question nº 16 ci-dessous).

8. Comment assurons-nous la protection de vos renseignements personnels lorsque nous traitons avec des tiers?
Tous les tiers qui ont accès aux renseignements personnels, qu'ils soient ou non impliqués dans une plainte, une enquête ou autrement, sont tenus par contrat d'observer l'intention de la présente déclaration ainsi que nos pratiques sur la protection de la vie privée.
9. Pendant combien de temps utiliserons-nous, divulguerons-nous ou conserverons-nous vos renseignements personnels?

Nous pouvons conserver vos renseignements personnels, la correspondance ou vos commentaires dans un dossier personnel. Nous pourrons utiliser, divulguer ou conserver vos renseignements personnels aussi longtemps que nécessaire aux fins pour lesquelles ils ont été recueillis et tel que la loi nous y autorise. Si les renseignements personnels ont été utilisés pour prendre une décision au sujet d'une plainte, nous conserverons les renseignements personnels pendant au moins un an.

 10. Comment assurons-nous l'exactitude de vos renseignements personnels?
Nous prendrons les mesures raisonnables pour faire en sorte que vos renseignements personnels soient aussi exacts, complets et à jour que possible. À l'occasion, nous vous demandons de nous fournir des mises à jour écrites de vos renseignements personnels.
11. Que faire si vos renseignements personnels sont inexacts?
Vous pouvez contester en tout temps le caractère exact ou complet de vos renseignements personnels que nous conservons. Si vous pouvez démontrer que les renseignements personnels qui vous concernent et dont nous disposons sont inexacts ou incomplets, nous les modifierons en conséquence. S'il y a lieu, nous transmettrons les renseignements modifiés aux tiers qui ont accès à vos renseignements personnels.
 12. Comment pouvez-vous accéder à vos renseignements personnels?
 Si vous faites une demande écrite d'information concernant vos renseignements personnels, nous répondrons à votre demande (et vous accorderons l'accès à vos renseignements personnels, sur demande) dans la mesure requise par la loi. Nous vous présenterons vos renseignements personnels dans un format généralement compréhensible, accompagnés d'une explication des abréviations et des codes, le cas échéant.
13. Dans quel délai répondrons-nous à vos demandes d'information écrites?
Nous répondrons généralement à vos demandes écrites dans les trente (30) jours suivant leur réception et, si cela nous est impossible dans ce délai, nous vous en aviserons par écrit. Nous vous aviserons également des recours relatifs aux plaintes dans ce même délai.
14. Y a-t-il des coûts associés aux demandes d'information sur vos renseignements personnels sur nos pratiques de protection de la vie privée?
De façon générale, nous répondrons aux demandes d'accès aux renseignements personnels ou aux demandes d'information sur nos pratiques de protection de la vie privée sans frais. Cependant, si la demande implique la production d'un important volume de dossiers, ou si le personnel de l'OSBI doit y consacrer beaucoup de temps de recherche, l'OSBI peut exiger des frais minimaux raisonnables pour couvrir ses coûts (et l'OSBI vous soumettra une estimation de ces frais pour examen avant de poursuivre).
 15. Comment savons-nous que c'est bien vous qui demandez l'accès à vos renseignements personnels?
Nous devons prendre les mesures qui s'imposent pour confirmer l'identité d'une personne qui demande l'accès à ses renseignements personnels. Pour ce faire, il se pourrait que nous vous demandions de nous fournir des renseignements personnels supplémentaires pour valider votre identité lorsque vous demandez l'accès à vos renseignements personnels. L'OSBI utilisera et divulguera les renseignements supplémentaires que vous nous fournirez uniquement en vue de répondre à votre demande.
16. Comment communiquer avec l'OSBI pour avoir accès à vos renseignements personnels ou au sujet des pratiques de protection de la vie privée de l'OSBI?
Tous les commentaires, et toutes les questions, préoccupations ou plaintes concernant vos renseignements personnels, la présente déclaration ou nos pratiques sur la protection de la vie privée doivent être acheminés à notre agent de la protection de la vie privée, à l'adresse suivante:

Agent de la protection de la vie privée
401, rue Bay, bureau 1505
C.P. 5
Toronto (Ontario) M5H 2Y4
Numéro sans frais: 1-888-451-4519
Numéro d'ATS: 1-855-889-6274
Télécopieur: 1-888-422-2865
Courriel: privacy@obsi.ca

Mode Contraste élevé activé